Over the years I’ve had quite a few people request this recipe so I thought I should just put it online, especially since I don’t travel with it and need it myself.
There’s a story behind the recipe – I found it in the More with Less cookbook, and when I started visiting my in-law’s home before marriage they were quite impressed with “Jacob’s granola recipe.”  One day while making granola at their house, I looked at the recipe author, and found out she lived one block away and was a friend of the family!

Anyways, here’s the recipe:


Crunchy Granola

(makes 1/2 gallon; I usually do a big triple batch at once)

In a big bowl, mix together:

  • 4 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup coconut  (fresh ground or unsweetened flaked)
  • 1 cup wheat germ
  • 1/4 cup ground flax (optional)
  • 1 cup sunflower seed (unsalted)
  • 1 cup almonds/walnuts (halved)

 Heat in a saucepan:

  • 1/3 cup oil
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar (mix with water first, then add to oil)
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1 T cinnamon
  • (optional: add a bit of honey or molasses)

Pour this mixture over the dry ingredients, stirring thoroughly until it’s all mixed together.  Spread thinly and evenly onto greased cookie sheets, about 3/4″ high.  Bake at 325° F, and be careful the sheets are not too close to either heating element.  I bake for 15-20 minutes before I check it and mix it around, switching the top and bottom pans around for the last 10 minutes of baking (25-30 minutes total baking time).  It’s really easy to burn, so check it often.  I allow it to cool in the pans at least 30 minutes so it forms chunks, then I put it in old ice-cream gallon buckets.

