Daniel brought a bag of these strange fruits with him one day while we were staying with the family in Bogra. I had never seen such a thing. He put some in our salad.

When we went to the project site, Daniel got us all picking roselle.



Maia liked to eat them straight! Daniel then made some jam. I wish I had watched the process more, because it was delicious and it needed no pectin to jell on it’s own.


But the biggest surprise was when Daniel made us tea out of roselle (and something else?) one evening. It took me right back to the market down the road in Det Udom, with my mother hanging her plastic bag of juice from her handle bars, after filling her basket with groceries. Cool, thirst-quenching, nam krajeab (กระเจี๊ยบ). Now, what about planting some roselle of our own??

